Tennis Life Lessons

Thoughts on The Retirement of Older Tennis Players

So much has changed in the tennis world since the days when I was a child. It feels strange to see the names I've seen so long finally retiring. Roger Federer and Serena Williams are finally putting away their rackets to focus on raising their kids. It feels like the end of an era.

I used to always hope I could play against Serena one day! As a kid, I was fascinated by the tennis court and the players fighting for every point. I realized Serena would probably be retired by the time I could compete against her, but it was still fun to imagine playing her one day.

Some tennis players retire at a young age, but it seems like now the tennis players are playing for longer and longer. As long as your body is healthy, you can play for many years to come!

So I feel a wistful feeling about seeing the top tennis players finally retiring. It reminds me that time is passing. I am still really young, but I have so much of my life ahead of me and so much time to devote to tennis. I feel grateful that I returned to the sport and I didn't give it up entirely. I know a part of me would always wonder how far I could have gone with it, how far my racket could take me! I'm learning to appreciate the journey more instead of comparing myself to others who might succeed at an earlier age than me.

I remember trying to tell my sister once that just because it takes longer for a player to win major events doesn't mean it will never happen. I was aware that as long as you keep showing up, practicing, and doing your best, you will eventually achieve your goals and develop as a player!

What's more, tennis is a lifelong sport. Older players can still succeed because they can still compete in senior tennis. It would be a shame if someone gave up the sport before they could see how far they can go with it.

The life lesson I've learned through watching the older tennis players retire is that while it's okay to leave the sport, give it your all before you go! Serena and Federer competed from their hearts, giving their best effort in every match. When they finally chose to hang up their rackets, they knew they gave it their all in every tennis tournament.